Ehh- What’s up Doc? Carrot Cake!

13 Oct

This week I made carrot cake. I love love loveeeee carrot cake. It tastes so good. And it smells so good. And it seems like the perfect thing to bake to celebrate the start of autumn. I mean, it’s a gorgeous burnt orange colour and it smells of cinnamon and nutmeg. Warm colours and spices always remind me of autumn for some reason.

More reasons why I should bake carrot cake:
1)      I make good carrot cake.
2)      IT’S THAT TIME OF THE MONTH WHERE I CRAVE THINGS AND IF I DON’T GET THEM I WILL BE VERY ANGRY.
3)      My grandma likes carrot cake, so I’m gonna send her some (well she likes anything I make so HAH!)
4)      I really wanted cake. To see what happens if I don’t get cake when I want it, refer to bullet point number two.
5)      My carrot cake is really good.
6)      I mean REALLY good.
7)      Ok, so I might be exaggerating a little. Damn you, tasty cake!

Anyways, on to the recipe! I got this recipe from Canadian Living, and it’s really good.

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3 eggs
  • 3/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 cups grated carrots

The recipe also includes crushed pineapple and chopped pecans. Of course I’m not going to be using the pecans because I hate– let me repeat that- HATE nuts in, on, or anywhere near my cakes. Unless they’re ground so finely and they’re so miniscule that I can’t tell they’re there. Even then, I hate them. I mean one second you’re eating soft, moist, fluffy cake and then- BAM- you get a stupid crunchy nut. Blech. Same goes for nuts in my ice cream. And don’t even get me started on the pineapple. Fruit chunks in my cake? I DON’T THINK SO.

The recipe also includes instructions on how to make cream cheese icing to go with the cake. However, I didn’t have any cream cheese at home, so I didn’t make any. Besides, I was kind of just craving some good old carrot cake, and no icing.

Anyway, here are the directions adapted from the original recipe.

Directions:

Grease and flour a metal cake pan and set it aside. Preheat the oven to 350°F (180°C).

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, cinnamon, baking soda, salt, and nutmeg.

In another bowl, beat together the sugars, eggs, oil, and vanilla until the mixture’s all smooth and stuff.

Pour this mixture over the flour mixture and stir until moistened. Add the carrots.

Spread the batter into your prepared pan.

Bake the cake in the oven for around 35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

 

Doing the toothpick check again (this is after I took the cake out of the oven- Yes, I know I'm a freak).

Once the cake is done, let it cool in the pan or on a cake rack. Oh, who am I kidding? Cut yourself a big slice of cake and eat that shit till you’re full. And don’t forget the glass of milk.

Mmmmm look at those crumbs

So I tried to do some food decorating here by sprinkling some nutmeg powder on the plate. Don’t be jealous of my creativeness okay?

 

Remember, the secret to making a good carrot cake is to have it as moist as possible. The most important thing to remember is not to over bake your cake. Once a cake is over baked, it will by dry and dense. For more tips on how to make your cakes moist, read this helpful article at BakingBites.com.

So my cake looked kind of like a hill when it was done baking- it always does. So I searched online for some tips on baking a good cake, and found these, from Pastrywhiz.com.

Tips on baking a good cake:

1)      Preheat your oven. Don’t turn it on right when you’re about to put your cake into the oven.
2)      Bake cake in the center of the oven.
3)      Consider using an oven thermometer to make sure you’ve got the right temperature for your cake.
4)      When the sides of the cake start pulling away from the pan, and a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, you know your cake is done. I find that my cake is usually done before the recipe says it will be.
5)      Avoid opening your oven multiple times. This can lead to heat escaping and cause your cake to collapse.

Secrets to making a good carrot cake:

Here are some secrets for making a good carrot cake which I got from Sabah Karimi on Yahoo! She has more tips, but these are the ones I used:

1)      Use oil instead of butter. Because this recipe uses oil instead, it makes for a moister cake.
2)      Grate your own carrots instead of buying grated carrots from the store. The freshest ingredients always make for the best cakes, and you won’t end up with weird carrot lumps in your cake.
3)      Use fresh spices. This one really makes a difference. Use spices that have been sitting in your cupboard for less than 6 months so the flavour is vibrant.

And now for a little segment I like to call My Parrot is Stupid:

So after my cake was done, I excitedly went up to my parrot and offered him a piece.

Like this:

I even put it on his stick so he could eat comfortably. And then the stupid parrot started moving away from my cake like “OH IT’S OKAY. I DONT WANT.” And last time I checked, NO ONE SAYS NO TO MY CAKE.

So then I put the piece of cake beside the stupid parrot and told him to eat it.

Next thing you know, the stupid parrot drops the piece of cake and it falls into the cage. So, being the extremely kind and caring owner that I am, I go to get him another piece. And then I come back. TO THIS:

The stupid parrot had chosen a date seed over my cake! I’d never felt so rejected in my life.

So then I was like:

I decided to give up on the stupid parrot. What can I say? Some people just have no idea about what constitutes good food. Yes, I’m talking about you, parrot. That’s right, turn away. Turn away in shame.

Stupid parrot turned around in shame

Anyway, I hope you have fun baking your own batches of delicious carrot cake! Take care and I shall see you soon my little pumpkins!

Leave a Reply

