Red Velvety Velvet Cupcakes!

22 Sep

When I was trying to choose a niche for my blog, I finally chose baking because although I’ve been baking for years, I wanted to try making more complex deserts than before and I thought a baking blog would be the perfect way to motivate myself. Today, I decided to make Red Velvet cupcakes using a recipe given to me by my good friend Khadijha (yes I know she has the same name as me). However, when I actually set out to make the cupcakes, I kind of wished I had picked something simpler to bake. Not only did the list of ingredients look daunting, I had never made Red Velvet cupcakes before, and I didn’t want to screw up. Not when I had to blog about my experience. Surprisingly though, the cupcakes turned out delicious and they weren’t hard to make at all! I totally recommend this recipe to you guys. So if you want to make Red Velvet cupcakes, keep on reading!

Cupcakes Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups of sugar
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter, softened
  • 2 eggs at room temperature
  • 2 1/3 cups of cake flour
  • 2 tablespoons of Dutch-processed cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • 1 cup of buttermilk*
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons of red food coloring
  • 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon of distilled white vinegar
    *You can make your own buttermilk by adding a tablespoon of distilled white vinegar to milk and letting it stand for about 10 minutes.

Cream Cheese Frosting Ingredients:

  •  8 ounces of cream cheese, softened
  • 5 tablespoons of butter, softened
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups of powdered sugar

I’ll be honest. The first thing I thought when my friend showed me this recipe was WHAT THE HELL?   

And then, Oh wells. So I picked my lazy butt up and scoured my house, trying to find all the ingredients. Like the recipe says you can, I made my own buttermilk. Also, I just used any old cocoa powder I could find.

Tip: If you don’t have cake flour, you can make your own. For every 1 cup of cake flour you need, use ¾ of a cup (84 grams) of sifter bleached all-purpose flour plus 2 tablespoons (15 grams) of cornstarch. I got this tip from The joy of baking.

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°F.

Beat the butter and sugar in an electric mixer for 3 minutes on medium speed until light and fluffy. Since I don’t have an electric mixer, I had to beat that shit by hand *flexes arm.*

Add the eggs, one at a time, beating until each is fully incorporated into the mix. Remember to scrape down the sides of the bowl as you go.

In a large bowl, sift together the cake flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

In another bowl, whisk together the buttermilk, vinegar, vanilla extract, and red food coloring.

Now here’s where we get into the really technical stuff. Okay, so you’re going to add 1/4 of the dry ingredients and mix, then add 1/3 of the wet. Continue adding the ingredients in a dry, wet, dry pattern, ending with the dry ingredients.

Next, scoop the mixture into the cupcake moulds, filling them ½ to ¾ of the way up. Bake for 18-22 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into a cupcake comes out clean. I found a crumb on my toothpick after I poked it into one of the cupcakes, so I shoved the pan back into the oven. I’m a little obsessive like that.

If you want, you can rotate the pan after the first 15 minutes of baking to ensure even baking of your cupcakes. But we don’t do that. We’re rebels.

Allow the cupcakes to cool in the pan then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. I didn’t have a wire rack so I just put them on a large platter.

Frosting Directions:

Combine the cream cheese and butter in the bowl of an electric mixer (if you have one- HMPH!). Beat the mixture on medium-high speed until it’s well combined, which should take you about 2-3 minutes. Keep mixing everything until it’s all nice looking and stuff, and then increase the speed and then beat it some more until it’s all super smooth.

Next, take the icing and frost your cupcakes. You can do this part however you wish. I like to lick my fingers and then dip them in the icing and spread it on the cupcakes. It’s like my personal touch.

Ta-Da! And now you have a batch of royally red, scrumptious and delicious Red Velvet cupcakes. This was my first time making Red Velvet anything, so I’m proud of myself. These babies actually turned out pretty good. Mmmmm. Except, these aren’t exactly working with my diet. Shhhhh…

Pictures (try not to drool all over your keyboard):

Pink sprinkles! And you can see my homework in the background.

This is what I do to cupcakes when they're done modeling for the camera- SMASHHH EM!

And a heart for the lovely readers : ) (I made this on our glass kitchen table, hence it looks like a floating heart)

Take care, and I’ll see you soon my little Cuppycakes!

4 Responses to “Red Velvety Velvet Cupcakes!”

  1. Yasmine September 28, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Great work! I love the beat you’re taking, which is like a cooking beat kind of thing I think? I like how you added your personal touch and personality although I wouldn’t have minded seeing more of your opinion and your experiences or thoughts while cooking. I also really liked the pictures! Especially the ‘y u no!’ one! Hopefully we’ll get to try these cupcakes out sometime? ;)

    • kdelicious September 29, 2011 at 3:21 pm #

      Yeah it’s going to be a desserts’ blog :D Thanks so much for your comment!
      And I’ll definitely try to add more of my opinions and thoughts in my next post :)

  2. kristynmary September 29, 2011 at 1:24 am #

    Delicious! Defintely gave me the urge to make cupcakes for the first time. Might have to actually make them for my Birthday that is today. Good job!

    • kdelicious September 29, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

      HAPPY BIRTHDAY! :D
      and thanks so much for much for your comment. Appreciate it :)

Leave a Reply

